It’s Art people

Since we are still off from basketball, one of my teammates asked me to go with her to an art gallery today. She had to go for class and she didn’t want to go alone so I went with her. It was here on campus so I didn’t have to pay for gas so I went with her.

I expected fresh and new works of art from the students here. I thought I would see many unique pieces and even some regular pieces with a few twist. I was pleased when I walked through the gallery because all of my expectations were filled. Much of the art had some type of meaning behind it. Some of the pieces really caught my eye and made me wonder about why the artist decided to create it the way they did.

I was really surprised that I enjoyed it the way as much as I did I have to tell about my favorite piece.

My favorite piece was called “Excavating the Sequel” by Carrie Gillen. I loved this piece because it shows how things can be destroyed so easily by just a small portion of it. Layer by layer, I found out what really made up the piece. There were five canvas-like boards that diminished to the core at every stage. From the first, where the board was whole you can tell that one corner had started to become bad. From that point the boards started to decay and at the last board there was nothing left. The message I received from the piece was that one bad apple could spoil the bunch or that one deep secret can eat you to the core and destroy you in a matter of five easy stages. This piece by far took the cake in the gallery even though it may have been simple and overlooked. I wish I had a picture to share with you guys. If i find one I will defiantly post it for you.

Standard

Leave a comment